I got my new planner

So it must be time for school. A new planner, new pens and a new sticker!

I think I am ready. No, I am not. It isn’t just about starting to work again…in some respects the schedule is nice and something to do keeps me off the street and off the drugs šŸ˜‰ BUT and it is a big BUT I am not ready to deal with the emotional roller coaster that is my job. That is what is filling my belly with butterflies. The people who get mad at me because they need someone to be mad at, the complaining, the whining, the dishing, the bitching, and the feeling that people are talking about you or something involving you when you enter a room because they all get silent as you walk through the door. UGH!
BUT and it is a smaller but maybe it will be different this year. Just maybe.

Wish me luck!

P.S This is my tarot card for today…
Tuesday, August 26
The ChariotThe Chariot
The Chariot is the representation of victory and a reminder that, through dedication and perseverance, great obstacles can be overcome. This card indicates that you are in control of your destiny and that your will is strong. Your refusal to surrender is your great attribute at this time. You will soon find yourself in a difficult situation that requires you to be in complete control of your actions and confident in your abilities.

I just read it…I believe.

6 thoughts on “I got my new planner

  1. ally says:

    You totally knew I would read this and write about how much I despise the kale bandwagon. PS I read the other day that Kale loses more than half its nutritional value when you cook it. Meaning you can zap it for 30 seconds and it will be fine but boiling, sauteeing and baking all significantly reduce any useful kale-ness. Ok, done sh*tting on your parade now. Love you…..

    PPS I just actually read your post, and if it helps you at all I can say this- I am dealing with the same things over here. Part of the problem is being a woman in the workforce. even in the uncaring world of pharma research I deal with the same crap you described above. I even giggled a little at how coincidentally similar we are. Its even harder to deal with coming off a vacation I know…good luck. Its like a long run- the first mile is ALWAYS the worst. You’ll get back into the groove soon I am sure…

  2. meme says:

    What can I say to that? BTDT comes to mind but not at all helpful.
    Take it all for what it is worth. Try to see the long view(ie: will I even remember this in a year or 2?)
    You are the most important adult that many of your students will ever have the pleasure of knowing. You are caring enough to listen to all of it and still be on their side ( instead of on their case). Even if they don’t know it right away, they are forever in debt to you for all that you show them. Of course, this will rub a certain portion of the adult world the wrong way. Their problem, not yours so just don’t go there. You have always known when to tie a knot in the rope and just hang on so I’m sure the year ahead will be filled with plenty of challenges as well as rewards.
    Accent the positive, eliminate the negative and don’t mess with mr. inbetween.
    Have the best year ever.
    Sending lots of love your way…….

  3. Jen says:

    Wow. I think I’m going to write down Holly’s post with a sentence on each index card and keep them in my desk to read as affirmations to boost my positive thinking!
    We’re back at it too. So far, I agree with Ugh.
    And Sarah, Ummm, it’s a real web site. Check it out for a cool T-shirt!

  4. barngirl says:

    Everyone! Thanks! First day done. Tired going to bed soon…but not so bad.

    Holly-your words-ahhhhhhhh cheered me up this morning! Thank YOU!
    Love!

  5. Like a nerd I just went to the Eat More Kale website hoping it would have some trick to get the f to eat it. Then I read the comment above about it–how can that be? What about steaming it? Ah well.

    Anyway, maybe at least the new school year will challenge your mind in ways it wasn’t being challenged during the summer. Ya won’t go soft!

    You can dooo eeet

Leave a Reply

