The truth

Blogs are supposed to show the best, funniest, prettiest parts of our lives, right?! At least these “mommy blogs” are supposed to, I think. Steve was telling me last night that he only feels like he has rants to post about on his blog and no one wants to read about rants, right?! Maybe not all the time, but geez sometimes you just have to rant. So that being said…
I am NOT a good stay-at-home mom. There I said it…

I hate doing laundry, cleaning the kitchen, making meals, entertaining the kids with valuable activities that will make them better little citizens. I feel extremes amount of pressure to be this perfect mother to my kids. I need to stop reading the super mommy blogs. I need to stop. I do not like sewing every night…I do not like to embroider delicate, fancy, decorations on home made tote bags. I do not even like to bake all the time. And you know what…MOST nights we eat cheese, crackers, grapes and carrots. It’s true. There I said it…

Now don’t get me wrong…I LOVE, L.O.V.E being with my kids. During the day I have fabulous moments of tenderness and fun. The other day, Molly and I spent one hour in the water together playing-during which I got much love and I gave much love. Ella and I can snuggle on the couch for long times. However, during those times when it is not smilely and lovey…I kind of wish I was working. There I said it…

But talk to me in January. Like a bi-polar patient I will be willing the winter gone and summer here again.

Come monday, when Steve is home for 10 days…I will probably be a happy camper again. But until then-Calgone Take ME Away. Phew—There I said it.

6 thoughts on “The truth

  1. Jen says:

    Oh, you. You are so right that you need to back away from the super mommy blogs. Remember that for some of these women, the blog is their JOB and they portray their lives accordingly too. God, they can drive you bonkers. You are an inspiring mom, Beth. Being home with two kids is exhausting work, which is why I avoid it most of the time unless Justin is home! I can’t wait to see you and your tiny dancers soon! Any chance of a performance at the party?? Love, me

  2. meme says:

    Beth,Beth, Beth…..
    We all search for perfection in the department of parenthood but when it is all said and done we basicly do the best we can with what we’ve got and there you have it. I think of all the children who have so much less of a home life than Molly & Ella and I’m glad that you have chosen a profession that helps them “be all they can be” reguardless of poor parenting. You give your children love and care everyday. They may not always like it (of you) but that is not your job. You are the teacher, the leader of the pack, nurturer and police. It’s a tough job but the benifits are going to be amazing. Every mother feels the way you do….even the stay at home ones….even though they will not admit it. Raising children is hard work. No wonder so many parents are busy doing something else. Ella and Molly will be fine. Summer will fade into fall and winter will roll around again. Time to plan for a Feb. Break in FL again.

  3. ally says:

    Cant you just wait till I am a Mom and I rival your procrastinatory nature? I am sorry but this is not the 50’s, women are allowed to want to work and be out of the house. Nothing wrong with that!

  4. What good is a blog where everything looks perfect? Not many people want to read that, I don’t think. People love the rants. People appreciate honesty, too, I think. I hope. Though in my case it sometimes brings the comment-flamers out of the woodwork.

Leave a Reply

