Back to our regularly scheduled summer vacation

We have returned from the Land of Make Believe-where we play, frolick, eat lots of food, drink lots of beverages, live in our bathing suits all day and the loftiest goal is to finish the book you are reading before dinner. Speaking of which-I read two. The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi, which I loved! I loved it for a couple reasons-I was really intrigued by the story of the Iranian Revolution and this perspective of that culture. I think I also loved it because I really think that I would keep my head low if there was ever a revolution-much like her family did. I would like to think that I would be out there fighting the good fight, but really I would be figuring out ways to get my kids out of the country and Steve and I too. I love this country, but I have my limits.
And the second book was Crow Lake and I can’t remember who it is by but Holly got it at recycling. And what a good book. Mostly because it was just a surprise. I had heard nothing about it and it just revealed itself to me so unpretentiously. I recommend it for a fun summer read. And then I had all my cookbooks with me that I would pore through lazily.

Besides reading we soaked up A LOT of family time. Everyone was home, the whole gang. Ella and Molly were in heaven from all the attention and fun. Ella and Kate fell right into step together and it is so nice to watch them. You would never know they only see each other a couple of times a year. Molly and Trey were the best though…because they are just at the age that they are starting to recognize playmates and by the end of the three days they were talking and playing together and it was really too cute. I enjoyed getting to know Trey. This is the first time he has talked to me and let me hug him. I couldn’t get enough. He invited me to go to Chuck E. Cheese with him. I am totally taking him up on that.

I also got some good Kelly time. I love that girl. Wish we were closer. She is gorgeous, sweet, and so flippin’ funny. I will be expecting my love texts and emails, Stink.

And of course Dad and Holly. So much good time with them. One of my favorite parts of the trip was going kayaking with Holly. Holly has this knack-ability-strength-whatever the word it is awesome how she is able to find these activities that are so much fun, but she also somehow turns it into a competitive sport…not in a bad way but a challenging way. Whether it is finding the next best shell on the beach or the best piece of whatever at recycling-the woman finds treasure wherever she goes. This is the woman who goes into LL Bean Outlet store and finds an embroidered returned bag with HOLLY on it. That never happens to me. This time it was kayaking up South Sandy Creek and trolling for broken pieces of dishware on the bed of the creek. We found some fun things down there. Old stoneware, mocha ware, Syracuse China, Brown and White flower china…blue spongeware…The only thing you have to be aware of though is if you show Holly a piece of china that is interesting don’t let her hold it because she will put in her pile and you will never see it again. 😉

Truly it was so much fun. And the rapids were worth the trek up stream. Can’t wait until the girls are old enough to join the adventure.
Overall-fantastic time! We were all happy to sleep in our own beds last night and are enjoying some quiet time this morning doing our own thing. Molly is into her puzzles, Ella is into her notebooks and Steve and I are into our computers. Off to a birthday party this afternoon. Good to be home.

3 thoughts on “Back to our regularly scheduled summer vacation

  1. Jen says:

    Great shots of the family. And so much holiday spirit! Did Pete come through with some fireworks??
    John and Allison look like twins in that second shot from the end! I’ve never really noticed that before. Looks like a fun time had by all.

Leave a Reply

