Sunday, hot and humid, Sunday

Sunday we had plans-plans that involved being in the car, but then the brakes sounded awful and we made a group decision to spend the day at home. The car is in getting taken care of today. We had a couple temptations, but we ended up never leaving, not once. That is rare for us. And I think Ella’s face says it all. It was a luxurious day.

I just kept thinking I felt like a momma tiger with her cubs. We pulled out blankets, the pool, and the DORA SPRINKLER and lay around all morning and afternoon. The girls would lounge around and on top of me, we would take turns getting cooled off in the pool or sprinkler, we grazed. So relaxing and wonderful.

href=”https://barninthewoods.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/p1050316.jpg”>
With the warm weather our strawberry plants that survived, and are thriving, an attempt to grow them in a civilized way 4 years ago are ripe and ready for the picking. The girls filled their bellies yesterday. Blueberries are green with a tinge of purple-looks like a bumper crop this year. We just got a freezer from a friend last week so we are excited to begin filling that with lots of veggies and fruit.
href=”
https://barninthewoods.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/p1050313.jpg”>

Yesterday also marked the beginning of Jigsaw puzzle season. I must say I got a little carried away with the opening yesterday and found myself drawn to the puzzle numerous times throughout the day. Ella was a little peeved by how much I completed without her.

And last but not least-I was given this Iris from Holly and LOOK! It is the most gorgeous thing I have ever had in my garden. I admire it daily. My new hydrangeas have many blooms and I am excited to enjoy those this summer. I am thinking that my old hydrangeas only have flowers on old growth so I have to stop cutting it back. They look really healthy though. 😉

Hope you all had a great weekend! Only 8 days of school left!!!

7 thoughts on “Sunday, hot and humid, Sunday

  1. meme says:

    Congratulations!
    That is the name of your Iris. I have a row of them along the side of our yellow garage. Thanks to Jo Davis who brought them to pot party last year.

  2. a-nugget says:

    My favorite thing to do in the morning is eat a yogurt, drink my D & D french vanilla (we ran out of Thunderbolt…it was enjoyed) and read your blog. Unfortunately work blocks youtube so I will have to see the videos later. Alas, I will have to be patient. Sigh.

  3. barngirl says:

    Awww A-nugget…that’s sweet. Cue-another shipment of Thunderbolt…you are very clever young jedi. 😉
    Meme-it is only getting better…three blossoms now.

  4. Kelly says:

    DUDE… I attended the POT PARTY… and I left feeling hungry and paranoid… but I DID get to bring Eric and HE brought those AMAZING iris as well.. and GAVE ME ONE!!! They ARE spectacular! I am soooo excited!

Leave a Reply

