Ahhhh friend

As I was driving home this afternoon from my morning of fun at Wentworth Gardens, I eased on by the turnoff to a dear, but missing from my regular life, friend’s house. When Ella was born, we collided with this family who for many reasons became my home away from home. Steve and the husband worked together in Boston and were friendly, but the wife and I became almost inseparable. I would spend whole days at their house. Mornings turned into afternoons turned into dinner turned into sleepy Ella. With two older kids-her youngest was almost three when Ella was born-I felt reassured and nourished by her parenting style and advice and warmth.
A few months before Molly was born, our nanny give us three weeks notice. I still had three months of work to get through before I was on Maternity Leave. This lovely lady took Ella in for those three months and they may have been some of the best months of Ella’s child care life. She never wanted to leave when I went to pick her up—nor did I.
Well, life has happened as it does-With kids in many sports and returning to a full time job, she has become a phantom whom I seem to see in groceries stores-mostly. And I have become involved with families from town and weekends seem to fill and are gone before I even know it. However, she is forever present in my mind and I wish that I could find that ease and comfort of staying and being with her for hours, but for many reasons it has not happened.
Today-As I was easing on by the turn off-I had this sudden urge to tell her how much she meant to me and how much I needed her when I was starting out in Mom-dom and how I NEVER could have made it without her. SO I swung the car around and sped up into her driveway. And as I leapt out of the driver’s seat I could hear her WHOOP at the sight of me and in an instant we were hugging and laughing and crying. As I touched her face and thanked her and she talked over me and told me how much she missed me, I realized I had given myself the BEST Mother’s Day Gift.

7 thoughts on “Ahhhh friend

  1. Jen says:

    What a great gift to give yourself and your friend. And thanks for the message today. Happy Mother’s Day to You, my role model mama.

  2. meme says:

    So sweet when I know who you are talking about without mentioning the names.
    Happy Mother’s Day to all of you.

  3. pedro says:

    Jesus H! Can you be any more sappy?

    Seriously, though, Happy Mom’s Day B. What is this, your fifth in a row?

  4. barngirl says:

    Jen and Meme-Back at ya Sisters
    PEDRO-I am a mother and hormonal-give me a f’in break.
    Thanks! Hope you were good to Erin.

  5. the roe family says:

    what a great post! i am so glad you found your happy ending to this story. sounds like a relationship to be treasured.

  6. a-nugget says:

    Kinda reminds me of that time I flew to Portland to visit you and we feel over in the middle of the airport laughing and crying and hugging. god we are corny!!

Leave a Reply

