Hmmm this tastes like rock n’roll with a fair amount of alt and indie flavor and a dash of country…

In the last post, I got admonished by a long time friend for having expressed some favor toward a pop culture tween movie/musical. My sis, thankfully, came to my rescue by making readers aware of the fact I am partly responsible for saving her from boy bands and britney. I do have some musical taste, despite my recent lack of good judgment (I blame my kids, solely).

But it got me thinking about my musical influences. So let’s take a moment to reflect…

Picture my older brother and I, at 4 and 6, sliding around in the back bench seat of my mom’s paneled station wagon (booster seats are for…you know whats) on our way to swimming lessons with Marshall Tucker Band wailing away on the AM mono stereo. The two of us bobbing our heads, surely singing along.

From an early age-we were listening to Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Emmylou Harris(Elite Hotel-I know it by heart)-we know now what the sweet smell was in Joe B.’s apartment next to our house, where there were surely the sounds of the Grateful Dead and others from the early 70s.

No surprise that I will stop to sing along with any classic rock station I come across.

I have to credit one young lady with opening my ears to the Doors and the Beatles. When my dad hired a new babysitter who soon became his wife, she had a wonderful habit of waking our lazy butts on a beautiful summer morning by blaring the following song through our serene little farmhouse.

Middle school was defined by the POLICE, Duran Duran, Madonna and Michael Jackson…come on Thriller was AWESOME! And I know all you women out there did a dance to Lucky Star with your friends. We will not dwell on the fact that I was in an emergency room from a skiing accident while my brother and his friend were at the Bruce Springsteen Concert next door. High school included Led Zeppelin, REM, Squeeze, U2 (got to the Joshua Tree concert-AWESOME) and Sting. And of course this…

From there I will skip over the part where my brother sold my ticket to what would be my first ever Grateful Dead show. It still burns but I did manage to get to a couple, in and after college during my jam band phase. But folks, I didn’t just listen to the dead and phish. I thank my scornful friend for opening my eyes to the likes of Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Velvet Underground, Sonic Youth, and others that I remember hearing in the dimly lit, christmas light adorned dorm rooms of my youth. College also meant The Clash, Depeche Mode, Siouxsie and the Banshees and man, I really loved Peter Murphy.

No surprise I married a man whose musical tastes are so different then mine, but every tune he shares with me is something I could listen to again. Except—gasp—I can’t believe I am admitting this, but I don’t care for John Coltrane. Sorry honey.
But I will always love and get the chills when I hear this song because he listened to this when he was writing his wedding vows to me the day before our wedding. Those words were the most BEAUTIFUL words I have ever heard.

But on a lighter note…what are your favorites…who influenced what you listened to then and now? And in closing, my new FAVORITE song (Thanks for pointing this out Therese!)

4 thoughts on “Hmmm this tastes like rock n’roll with a fair amount of alt and indie flavor and a dash of country…

  1. Kelly says:

    Beth. It is 2:30 in the a.m… your crazy friend Kelly is just getting home… and of COURSE checking out her fave blogs… well.. I have tears in my eyes for some reason… the babysitter… the Doors… the song your hubby listened to… OK.. so I have had too many Guinness.. but I have to tell you this post made me HAPPY.

Leave a Reply

